I made you a mixtape…

I made you a mixtape...

…because I don’t always stop to say how much I love seeing all of your different pictures – all the different expressions and the stories you tell.  You make me laugh and smile and even cry sometimes – and clicking a star doesn’t tell you that, or that I really do notice that you put a lot of thought and work into what you post, or that I pulled other people over to look at what you did, or that I sometimes have thought, “wow, I’ve been there…” So I made you a mixtape, to say what I haven’t.

…and I tried to keep it true to the era when mixtapes really were made on tape recorders 😉

Songlist:

Pictures of You ~ The Cure

“I’ve been looking so long at these pictures of you, that I almost believe that they’re real…”

Actually, it’s more than almost.  There’s so much more that’s real beyond what isn’t… your picture may be an avatar or a virtual landscape – but what gets expressed is you. I love that.

Million Miles Away ~ the Plimsouls

So many of you are in different countries or states or time zones, and I love that I can be connected in an instant to your corner of the globe, and your perspective of it.

Love My Way ~ Psychadelic Furs

”Love my way, it’s a new world… I follow, where my mind goes…”

For all the different ways you express what you love, and that you love.  You have me follow, and see the world in ways I never otherwise would.

The One I Love ~ R.E.M.

“This one goes out to the one I love… this one goes out to the one I left behind”

For all the hundreds of images I have silently faved, and truly loved – for the ones I have meant to go back to leave a comment, and then didn’t.  There were times I was at work and meant to go back when I got home… and there were times I was too shy to do more than click the star.

True Colors ~ Cindy Lauper

“Your true colors… are beautiful, like a rainbow”

I’ve been in SL since 2009, but it wasn’t until I started really watching flickr that I began to understand and even appreciate genres that before were somehow just “not me.”  Thank you for showing me beauty where before I didn’t see it – for showing your true colors – my world is bigger and richer because you do.

Come Sail Away ~ Styx

“Come sail away, come sail away with me…”

Sometimes, I get deflated and feel like a child with a crayon-scribbled drawing compared to the artistry in other images. But then one of you clicks that silly star, or leaves a comment… and you give me the confidence to try again, to learn more – to come and sail and not just sit on the shore.

This one is also because I had to include a song that honored “SHIPS!” and the littlest, wisest captain who creates an ocean of heart and compassion and wisdom and fun, each and every time.  Flickr (for me, at least) wouldn’t be the same without Skippy.

I Melt with You ~ Modern English

“There’s nothing you and I won’t do…”

And finally, here’s to the future.  To all the expressions of imagination and creativity and humanity yet to come.  I can’t wait to see what you come up with next.

style credits:

outfit ~ Gizza ~ now at Mesh Body Addicts Fair

hair ~ Entwined ~ now at The Crossroads

pose ~ Del May

 

décor credits:

vintage stereo ~ kunst ~ now at Shiny Shabby

tape recorder ~ 7 Emporium

plant ~Apt B ~ part of “Vintage Life” gacha set

cat statue ~ keke ~ bastet cat figure

shelf ~ Haikei ~ part of “Near Sunset” gacha set

chair ~ Haikei ~ cloth covered chair

mug ~ Zerkalo ~ coffee mug & books (books not visible)

bed ~ Zerkalo ~ Low Bed

twinkle tree ~ tarte

 

 

2 thoughts on “I made you a mixtape…

  1. Wow Callie!! I smiled, laughed, and had a teary moment as I finished reading this.. it’s so beautifully said. I couldn’t agree more.. and the one that resonated most with me was the one about understanding and appreciating genres that sometimes are just not you. Thank you so much for this.. just what I needed to read before going to bed. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so glad you liked it, Alexa!! I really wanted it to be a way of saying thank you to you and so many others whose work I look at every day. I’m glad it touched you, and hope you got my deep appreciation for your work! ❤️❤️❤️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

